Access level allows specific products to be visible to specific websites users only.
You can apply access levels to documents or images as well. For example a product is available to all who browse the website, does not matter if they are logged in or not but specific files attached to that product will be visible only to users that has assigned a specific access level.
To setup access level into your website you have to:
- When your website is browsed by people that are not logged in or by people logged but not assigned to "military access level" they will NOT see "Product 1".
- When Jon Smith or anyone else that has assigned "military access level" will log in then they will see "Product 1"
The access level is a property attached to:
- a website user
- a product or a file / image of a product
For example you wish that a product to be seen by anybody but you wish that a pdf that contain technical specifications to be seen only by military accounts.
In this case:
- make sure the product is visible to "Consumers", "Military" and all other access levels you have crated. - Attach to that product technical specifications and make sure this file is available only to "military".
- Any user can have ONE ONLY access level. For example an user can be: Consumer, Military or Reseller.
- Any product can be available to / can be seen and bought by ONE or MORE access levels.
- If a product is not available to any access level group then it will not be seen at all into website. It is like being disabled.
Access level has no relation with price level.
- Price level is about how much someone will pay for a product
- Access level is about who is able to see a product
There is default access level named "Consumer".
Anyone who register to the website get assigned automatically this access level
All not logged in users has "Consumer" access level.
Any product you will create will be available by default to "Consumer" access level.
It means all who have access level not changed/altered, and all not logged in users will be able to see and buy it.
If you do not create special access levels then you will never know that they may exist. Everybody (logged in or not) will see all products and files attached to products.
- To add a new access level click on [Add new access level] button. You will be asked to enter its name.
You cannot add an access level with no name.
- To delete an access level click on corresponding [Delete] button
If [Delete] button is not shown it means that the access level is in use. It is assigned to one or more products and / or users
You cannot delete an access level that it is in use.
- To change name of an access level just change it. You can change any name, anytime (except consumer access level - system default).
Any change you do will propagates globally immediately you will leave the name field.
- You cannot delete or alter in any way the Consumer access level.
- Do not add access levels if you are not going to use them because will be confusing when you edit your customers and products.